Hans-Josef Fell

Hans-Josef Fell

Hans-Josef Fell

President, Energy Watch Group, & Member of the German Parliament from 1998–2013

Hans-Josef Fell, member of the German Parliament from 1998–2013 and spokesperson for energy policy of the Alliance 90/The Greens, is an internationally known political advocate for 100% Renewable Energy. He is President of the Energy Watch Group (EWG), Ambassador for 100% Renewable Energy and Senior Advisor at DWR eco GmbH. Hans-Josef Fell is the father of the German Renewable Energy legislation (EEG), which has been a model policy for almost 100 countries worldwide.

His present and past professional positions include:

  • President of the Energy Watch Group (Since 2014)
  • Ambassador for 100% Renewable Energies (Since 2014)
  • Voluntary Senior Advisor DWR eco (Since 2014)
  • Member of German Parliament (1998–2013)
  • Alderman in Hammelburg (1990–1998)

Hans-Josef Fell’s previous political posts were:

  • Spokesman for energy policy for the Green Parliamentary Group (2005 – 2013)
  • Spokesman for research and technology policy for the Green Parliamentary Group (1998 – 2005)
  • Spokesman of the Parliamentary Group for the Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety
  • Rapporteur for Technology Assessment for the Parliamentary Group
  • Member of the Bundestag’s Defence Committee and Committee on Economic Affairs
  • Spokesman of the Committee for Education, Research and Technology Assessment
  • Chairman German-Chinese Parliamentary Friendship Group

Awards Hans-Josef Fell has received include:

  • Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (2014)
  • Energy Award powered by Joule & RENEXPO® for life’s work; Bavarian Order of Merit (2012)
  • Bonda-Award of the European Photovoltaic Industry Association (EPIA) (2006)
  • German Biogas Award, Dr. Heinz Schulz Memorial Medal (2003)
  • First German Geothermal Award (the „Hard Rock Drill“) (2002)
  • German Solar Industry Award (2002)
  • “Nuclear-Free Future Award” – most important award of the international anti- nuclear movement (2001)
  • Solar Award of the International Solar Energy Society, German Section (DGS); Energy Globe Award (2000)
  • Solar Award of the European Solar Energy Association EUROSOLAR (1999)